SimForums.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General Discussion Forums > Hardware, Software, and Computer Technology
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedOptimizing Win10

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Optimizing Win10
    Posted: April-18-2021 at 10:25am
It might me a bit late for an optimizing Win10 post for many, but for me Win10 is new.

Besides, it is rainy and cold so why not invest some time in researching how I can optimize Win10 for performance.

In the past we have had a little help for Win7 with Nicks Bible.

Just a little Wink

And although Win7 and Win10 are not the same I can imagine some things can still be changed for the OS to run with less unnecessary stuff.

Since I am an amateur at this the idea is to only sum up some simple stuff here.

For example things like UAC and HDD indexing, etc.

If this has been done before I must have missed it, so please do tell!

Also, if Win10 is much better and efficient compared to Win7 so that it does not need to be optimized for an MSFS2020 (or other sim) dedicated PC...then also, please do tell!

If any inputs come along from you guys I will gather them and add them to my post below.

thanks.
Rob
PC1:i7 3770k 4.4Ghz, Asus Max V Formula,GTX780,8GB 2400@9-11-11-31

PC2: i7 4770K@4.2Ghz, ASUS Z87, 8GB DDR3 2400@9-11-11-31, GTX780

Building 10900k, ASUS Max Hero XII 4x8GB CL15-16-16-36, no GPU
777simmer View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-18-2021 at 10:34am
Things I think we can do to optimize Win10:

1) recovery partition.

I noticed after installing Win10 that it installs a recovery partition (without a drive letter.)
You can find it by typing disk management in the settings search box.
Its size is about 0.5GB.
Not a lot, but with Win7 I had the recovery options turned off and used the Win7 build in image creating tool for making backups of the OS.