SimForums.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Flight One Software Forums > Ground Environment X Series
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

[ANSWERED] P3D v4 Updates and GEP3D reinstall

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GEK_the_Reaper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: [ANSWERED] P3D v4 Updates and GEP3D reinstall
    Posted: August-28-2017 at 3:21am
Hi guys,

another Q from a newbie related to P3D..

I'm new to P3D (got my first license with v4's release) and I can't find anything of how to coop with HF or P3D updates that req uninstallation of actual P3D packages...
Since both UTX and GEP3D change files inside of P3D, how exactly should I proceed when LM releases updates?
What part of the package Client / Content / Scenery is modified by GEP3D and UTX?

Regards,
Gerald

PS: Just point me to the manual if my answer is there (I have not read it...) mea culpa Geek.
P3D v4, GEP3D+UTX, ASP4+ASCA, FSGlobal Ultimate NG, ORBX Trees HD, Chase Plane,...
NickN View Drop Down
Certified Professional
Certified Professional

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NickN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-28-2017 at 5:11am
Uninstall completely and reinstall with UTX if you change the install directory.

If you do not delete the install directory for P3D and reuse it, UTX should be OK, just open the UTX config tool after reinstall of P3D and it will repair the terrain.cfg. If you change the P3D install directory then UTX will have to be uninstalled/reinstalled

With GEP3D simply do one of the two:

A. Before update, disable GEP3D using the GEP3D interface which will automatically disable UTX upgrades, then after upgrade of P3D, open GEP3D after reinstall of UTX and enable.. always use Run As Administrator

B. If you forget to disable first, After update of P3D, simply run GEP3D after reinstall of UTX and then DISABLE/ENABLE. all fixed